Churfirsten Route

Nesslau–Wildhaus–Buchs SG

With the majestic Churfirsten mountain range on one side, striking Mt. Säntis on the other, the Churfirsten Route takes you through the beautiful Obertoggenburg Valley from Nesslau to Buchs in the St. Gallen Rhine Valley.

FamiliesGroupsCulture and enjoymentPasses and mountainsSport and funEventsHiking and nature

Take the Churfirsten Route to enjoy the hiking and sledding paradise of the Toggenburg. The area between Mt. Säntis and Churfirsten offers a wide range of activities for people with limited mobility.

In Nesslau you could visit the old bone mill or the baroque monastery church (PostBus stop Nesslau-Neu St.Johann, Railway Station). You can walk from Nesslau to Wildhaus on the Toggenburg High Trail. A gondola takes you from Alt St. Johann to the Alp Sellamatt skiing and hiking area (PostBus stop Alt St. Johann, Post Office). If you like spooky stories, a stroll along the Toggenburg Legends Trail is for you. The history museum in Unterwasser has interesting facts about life in the Toggenburg (PostBus stop Unterwasser, Post Office). Experience the impressive display of the Thur waterfalls near Unterwasser. Unterwasser and Wildhaus are gateways to several excellent skiing and hiking areas (PostBus stops Unterwasser, Post Office and Wildhaus, Lisighaus). Visit the birthplace of Swiss reformer Zwingli in family-friendly Wildhaus (PostBus stop Wildhaus, Lisighaus). Werdenberg with its medieval wooden settlement and the castle reflected in the lake is a very attractive place. On the Path of the Senses along the lake you learn to sharpen your perception. Stop at the Schlangenhaus museum for information about the culture of the region. In the Birds of Prey Park in Buchs the entire family can observe countless bird species from around the world (PostBus stop Buchs St Gallen, Werdenberg).

Wanderlust: hiking along the young Thur river

The walk along the Thur river takes you through picturesque and ever-changing scenery. It starts in Unterwasser, always accompanied by the gentle burble of the river, and continues via Chlostobel to Alt St.Johann. Following the right side of the stream, the path leads to Starkenbach, through the narrow part of the valley and past former Starkenstein castle. Continue through Bratzenmoos along the rugged Thur ravine where the forest is teeming with plants that thriving in the moist environment. After passing three waterfalls and a small power plant the village of Nesslau will soon come into sight.

Hike starting in Unterwasser (start and end also possible along the way):

  • Unterwasser–Starkenbach: 1.5 hrs., wheelchair-accessible
  • Starkenbach–Nesslau: 2.5 hrs.

Price

 www.sbb.ch

Reservations

Reservations required for groups of 10 or more. Tel. +41 71 375 68 80

Travel dates/Validity

Route open all year
Travel-date details/validity: view timetable/timetable information

Timetable information

 Timetable 80.790 - Nesslau–Wildhaus–Buchs SG (Route 790)

Contact

PostBus Switzerland Ltd
Region Eastern Switzerland
St. Leonhard-Strasse 20
P.O. Box 1548
9001 St. Gallen
Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 453 14 44
Fax: +41 58 667 61 16
E-mail:
Internet:  www.postbus.ch/easternswitzerland

Bicycle transport

Limited number of bicycle transport fixtures in/on the vehicle

Special comments:
view timetable/timetable information

Wheelchair accessibility

Wheelchair access to the postbus guaranteed

Special comments:
All vehicles are wheelchair-accessible. For information call tel. +41 (0)58 453 14 44

SwitzerlandMobility

Explore the area of the Churfirsten Route on foot:

or by mountain bike:

or by bicycle:

Churfirsten-Linie

Nesslau–Wildhaus–Buchs SG

Die majestätischen Churfirsten zur einen, der aussichtsreiche Säntis zur anderen Seite, führt Sie die Churfirsten-Linie durch das wunderschöne Obertoggenburg von Nesslau nach Buchs im St. Galler Rheintal.

FamilienGruppenKultur und GenussPässe und Berge Sport und SpassVeranstaltungenWandern und Natur

Geniessen Sie mit der Churfirsten-Linie das Wander- und Schlittelparadies Toggenburg mit umfassendem Freizeitangebot für Personen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität zwischen dem Säntis und den Churfirsten.

Besichtigen Sie in Nesslau die alte Knochenmühle oder die barocke Klosterkirche (PostAuto-Haltestelle Nesslau-Neu St.Johann, Bahnhof). Wandern Sie von Nesslau auf dem Toggenburger Höhenweg nach Wildhaus. Mit der Seilbahn gelangen Sie von Alt St. Johann zur Alp Sellamatt, die zum Skifahren und Wandern einlädt (PostAuto-Haltestelle Alt St. Johann, Post). Entdecken Sie schaurige Geschichten auf dem Toggenburger Sagenweg. Im Heimatmuseum in Unterwasser erfahren Sie mehr über das traditionelle Leben im Toggenburg (PostAuto-Haltestelle Unterwasser, Post). Erleben Sie das beeindruckende Schauspiel der Thurwasserfälle bei Unterwasser. Von Unterwasser und Wildhaus gelangen Sie mit verschiedenen Bergbahnen in wunderbare Ski- und Wandergebiete (PostAuto Haltestellen Unterwasser, Post und Wildhaus, Lisighaus). Besuchen Sie im familienfreundlichen Wildhaus den Geburtsort des Reformators Zwingli (PostAuto-Haltestelle Wildhaus, Lisighaus). Werdenberg bezaubert mit der mittelalterlichen Holzbausiedlung und dem Schloss, das sich im Werdenbergersee spiegelt. Auf dem Sinnespfad am See schärfen Sie Ihre Wahrnehmung. Das Regionalmuseum Schlangenhaus zeigt Ihnen die Kultur der Region. In Buchs beobachten Sie im Greifvogelpark mit der ganzen Familie unzählige Vogelarten aus aller Welt (PostAuto-Haltestelle Buchs SG, Werdenberg).

Wanderlust: entlang der jungen Thur unterwegs

Die Wanderung führt Sie entlang der jungen Thur durch eine malerische und abwechslungsreiche Landschaft. Start ist in Unterwasser. Immer begleitet vom sanften Rauschen der jungen Thur geht es über das Chlostobel nach Alt St.Johann. Dem rechten Flussufer folgend führt der Weg nach Starkenbach, durch die Talenge und vorbei an der ehemaligen Burg Starkenstein. Durch das Bratzenmoos geht’s weiter dem wildromantischen Thurtobel entlang. In der bewaldeten Schlucht spriessen feuchtigkeitsliebende Pflanzen zuhauf. Vorbei an den drei Giessenfällen mit Kleinkraftwerk ist schon bald das Dorf Nesslau in Sicht.

Wanderung ab Unterwasser (kann auch unterwegs angetreten oder beendet werden):

  • Unterwasser–Starkenbach: 1,5 h, rollstuhlgängig
  • Starkenbach–Nesslau: 2,5 h

Preise

 www.sbb.ch

Reservation

Reservation für Gruppen ab 10 Personen erforderlich. Tel. +41 71 375 68 80

Reisedaten/Gültigkeit

Linie ganzjährig geöffnet
Details Reisedaten/Gültigkeit: siehe Fahrplan/Fahrplaninformation

Fahrplan/Fahrplaninformation

 Fahrplan 80.790 - Nesslau–Wildhaus–Buchs SG (Linie 790)

Kontakt

PostAuto Schweiz AG
Region Ostschweiz
St. Leonhard-Strasse 20
Postfach 1548
9001 St. Gallen
Schweiz

Tel.: +41 58 453 14 44
Fax: +41 58 667 61 16
E-Mail:
Internet:  www.postauto.ch/ostschweiz

Velotransport

Velotransportvorrichtung im/am Fahrzeug beschränkt vorhanden

Besondere Bemerkungen:
siehe Fahrplan/ Fahrplaninformation

Rollstuhlgängigkeit

Rollstuhlgängigkeit im Postauto gewährleistet

Besondere Bemerkungen:
Alle Kurse rollstuhlgängig. Auskunft erteilt Tel. +41 (0)58 453 14 44

SchweizMobil

Entdecken Sie das Gebiet der Churfirsten-Linie zu Fuss:

oder mit dem Mountainbike:

oder mit dem Velo: