Central Alps Passes: Grimsel–Nufenen–Gotthard–Susten Pass Route

Meiringen–Grimsel–Oberwald–Nufenen–Airolo–Gotthard–Andermatt–Susten–Meiringen

The Grimsel–Nufenen–Gotthard–Susten Pass Route promises pure Alpine romance! On the 1-day round trip you ascend an overall 8000 meters distance, without changing transport, and enjoy stupendous views over the imposing glacier, deep valleys and romantic little villages.

Tips and extras for this offer

  • Airolo: a light at the end of the tunnel
      Airolo: a light at the end of the tunnel Culture/Sightseeing

    Airolo has been the meeting place of different cultures since donkey’s years! And you’re reminded of this by the granite sculpture by the artist Gianfranco Rossi at the southern Gotthard tunnel entrance. Discover a part of Ticino’s culture at the showcase cheese dairy in Airolo – or, better still, enjoy a taste of the specialities at the adjacent restaurant.

  • Aare Gorge
      Aare Gorge Nature

    The "Kirchet" rock barrier was an obstacle since the ice ages. The Aare ultimately overcame it as it carved its way through the gorge which is up to 180 meters deep, 1.4 km long and only one meter wide in some parts.

  • Gotthard Hospiz Hotel
    Gotthard Hospiz Hotel Hotels/Accommodation

    The first known mountain inn was dated 1237, although there are reports about a predecessor built around 620. It was home to Capuchin monks who lived there and took care of travelers until 1841. The group of buildings was made up of a chapel, a goods transfer station, stables, and later followed by a hotel.

  • Grimsel Hospiz Hotel
      Grimsel Hospiz Hotel Hotels/Accommodation

    Near Lake Grimsel, a mountain inn had been built as early as 1142. During the construction of the power plant between the two world wars the inn was burned down and rebuilt on the Nollen. The first electrically heated house in Europe is well worth a visit.

  • Meiringen:  la dolce vita!
      Meiringen: la dolce vita! Culture/Sightseeing

    The meringue owes its name to its birthplace Meiringen. Here, inspired by the white and powdery surrounding summits, a sweet-toothed Italian gave birth to the meringue. And the delicious treat is enjoyed even more in its original birthplace, as you also delight in an equally as enjoyable scenic treat!

  • Sasso San Gottardo
      Sasso San Gottardo Culture/Sightseeing

    At the Sasso San Gottardo exhibit, in the impressive tunnel and rock caverns inside the mountain, you can explore the futuristic displays focusing on the challenges of handling our resources.

  • Schöllenen Gorge
    Schöllenen Gorge Nature

    People have traveled through the Gotthardreusstal valley since the Bronze Age. The road through the Schöllenen Gorge opened up at the end of the 12th century. The "Spraying Bridge" was later renamed Devil's Bridge, marking another step in the long history of this route.

  • Susten Pass
    Susten Pass Culture/Sightseeing

    Needing access to the Gotthard Pass the canton of Bern began in 1811 with the construction of the "communications strasse" After the Simplon this was the second modern road crossing the Alps. The current road dates from the 1940s. It was designed as a scenic route and carefully integrated into the landscape.

  • Tremola
    Tremola Culture/Sightseeing

    The Tremola is the longest street-monument in Switzerland. She was built round 1830, reconstructed 1951 and is in redevelopement these days.
    At her most spectacular section the street
    climbs on a lenght of four kilometers the 300 meters altitude by 24 turns.

  • Andermatt
    Andermatt Culture/Sightseeing

    Andermatt began to come alive around the middle of the 19th century with the opening of the Gotthard pass road to traffic. Following the opening of the notorious Gotthard Tunnel, Andermatt then primarily developed into a place of military and touristic significance.
    Now, owing to the construction of a huge tourist resort courtesy of an Egyptian investor, Andermatt is expected to once again shine in all its former glory.

  • Devil's Bridge
    Devil's Bridge Culture/Sightseeing

    The rugged Schollenen Canyon, through which a tunnel leads today, was always a difficult place to cross. And according to famous legend, the first bridge to cross it was constructed with the aid of the devil.

  • Gotthard Pass
    Gotthard Pass Passes/Mountains

    The notorious Gotthard Pass, known also as King of passes, represents a symbol of Swiss independence, traversing the Alps at an incredible height of 2,106 meters above sea level. The story behind the pass and Gotthard road is open to all at the National Gotthard Museum.

  • Nufenen Pass
    Nufenen Pass Passes/Mountains

    The Nufenen Pass road first opened in 1969 and represents Switzerland's youngest pass road over the Alps. At a height of 2478 meters above sea level, it's also the highest pass road on Swiss soil!

  • Oberwald
    Oberwald Culture/Sightseeing

    Start of the 1982 completed Furka Tunnel is in Oberwald. And thanks to this opening, the once totally cut-off town developed into a popular tourist resort.
    In particular, Oberwald warms the hearts of cross-country fans.

  • Reichenbach Falls and Sherlock Holmes
      Reichenbach Falls and Sherlock Holmes Nature

    The Reichenbach Falls are made up of seven waterfalls and owe their international fame to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and his fictive Sherlock Holmes figure. And of course Sherlock Holmes fell into the turbulent waters together with his sworn enemy on May 4, 1891 following a bitter fight.

  • Rock Crystal on the Grimsel Pass
      Rock Crystal on the Grimsel Pass Nature

    Behind the Raeterichsboden dam wall, on the way over the Grimsel Pass, lays the Raeterichsboden reservoir and artificial lake. And below the dam wall the entrance to underground KWO power plant is discovered - a place where the fascinating world of crystal is also revealed.

  • Stein Glacier
    Stein Glacier Culture/Sightseeing

    Steingletscher - Stein Glacier - is a glacial valley south of the Susten Pass. Below the Stein Lake, fed by the glacial waters, lies the Hotel Steingletcher - a popular excursion point for regional mountain hikes, as well as popular stop for bikers, cyclists and naturally postbuses.

  • Suvorov Memorial
    Suvorov Memorial Culture/Sightseeing

    In 1799, in the surroundings of the Devil's Bridge, triumphant battle for the Russians took place under the commando of General Suvorov against the French. And the erected Suvorov Memorial in Fels serves as reminder of the Russian soldiers who lost their lives in battle.

  • Wassen and its famous church
    Wassen and its famous church Culture/Sightseeing

    The village of Wassen is primarily famous thanks to its very unique little church. And the small church owes its fame to its position in relation to the Gotthard railway. On climbing in height and passing two tunnels, passengers view the little church three times - and strangely enough, first from the right, followed by the left and then on the right again!

  • Gotthardbackpacker, Wassen UR
      Gotthardbackpacker, Wassen UR Hotels/Accommodation

    Swiss Hostels - no matter which hostel you choose, you are sure to feel at home and will always find a comfortable and inexpensive place to spend the night.

  • Herberge Hospental, UR
      Herberge Hospental, UR Hotels/Accommodation

    Swiss Hostels - no matter which hostel you choose, you are sure to feel at home and will always find a comfortable and inexpensive place to spend the night.

Zentralalpenpässe: Grimsel–Nufenen–Gotthard–Sustenpass-Linie

Meiringen–Grimsel–Oberwald–Nufenen–Airolo–Gotthard–Andermatt–Susten–Meiringen

Die Grimsel–Nufenen–Gotthard–Sustenpass-Linie verspricht Alpenromantik pur. Auf der eintägigen Rundfahrt überwinden Sie ohne Umsteigen 8000 Höhenmeter mit einmaliger Aussicht auf imposante Gletscher, tiefe Schluchten und romantische Dörfer.

Tipps und Extras zu diesem Angebot

  • Airolo: ein Licht am Ende des Tunnels
      Airolo: ein Licht am Ende des Tunnels Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Airolo ist schon seit Jahrhunderten Treffpunkt verschiedener Kulturen. Daran erinnert die Granitskulptur von Gianfranco Rossi am Südportal des Gotthardtunnels. Entdecken Sie die Tessiner Kultur in der Schaukäserei von Airolo oder kosten Sie die Spezialitäten gleich im angegliederten Restaurant.

  • Aareschlucht
      Aareschlucht Natur

    Der Kalk-Riegel des "Kirchet" bildete seit der Gletscherzeit ein Hindernis, welches die Aare schliesslich durch die bis 180 Meter tiefe 1.4 km lange und teils nur ein Meter breite Schlucht überwand.

  • Gotthard Hospiz
    Gotthard Hospiz Hotel/Übernachten

    Das erste bekannte Hospiz datiert von 1237, wobei von einem Vorgänger aus den Jahren 620 berichtet wird. Bis 1841 boten Kapuziner Unterkunft und betreuten die Reisenden. Eine Kapelle, eine Sust, Ställe und später ein Hotel ergänzen die Gebäudegruppe.

  • Grimsel Hospiz
      Grimsel Hospiz Hotel/Übernachten

    Beim Grimselsee fand sich bereits seit 1142 ein Hospiz. Dieses wurde beim Bau des Kraftwerks in der Zwischenkriegszeit abgebrannt und auf dem Nollen neu erstellt. Das erste elektrisch beheizte Haus Europas überzeugt durch seine sanft sanierte und gepflegte Einrichtung.

  • Meiringen: süsse Aussichten
      Meiringen: süsse Aussichten Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Die Meringue verdankt ihren Namen dem Geburtsort Meiringen. Inspiriert von den weissen, wie mit Puderzucker bestäubten Bergspitzen, kreierte hier ein Italiener dieses feine Dessert aus Zucker und Eischnee – zusammen mit dem herrlichen Blick auf die Bergwelt ein ganz besonderer Hochgenuss.

  • Sasso San Gottardo
      Sasso San Gottardo Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Im Sasso San Gottardo können Sie in den eindrücklichen Stollen und Felskavernen im Inneren des Berges werden die Herausforderungen im Umgang mit unseren Ressourcen atmosphärisch thematisiert.

  • Schöllenenschlucht
    Schöllenenschlucht Natur

    Das Gotthardreusstal wurde seit der Bronzezeit begangen. Am Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts wurde der Weg durch die Schöllenen geöffnet. Der "Stiebende Steg" später Teufelsbrücke genannt, war ein weiterer Schritt in der langen Geschichte der Route.

  • Sustenpass
    Sustenpass Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Um den Anschluss Berns über den Gotthard an den Süden zu gewährleisten, wurde 1811 der Bau einer Communicationsstrasse begonnen. Es war die zweite alpenquerende Kunststrasse. Die heutige Passstrasse stammt aus den 1940er Jahren und wurde als Panoramastrasse gebaut und gezielt in die Landschaft integriert.

  • Tremola
    Tremola Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Die Tremolastrasse ist das längste Strassenbau-Denkmal der Schweiz. Sie wurde um 1830 erstellt, 1951 rekonstruiert und derzeit wieder saniert. Im spektakulärsten Abschnitt überwindet die Strasse auf einer Länge von vier Kilometern 300 Höhenmeter in 24 Kehren.

  • Andermatt
    Andermatt Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Andermatt erlebte seine Blüte Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts, nachdem der Gotthardpass fahrbar gemacht worden war. Nach der Eröffnung des Gotthardtunnels entwickelte sich Andermatt vor allem zum Militär- und Tourismusort.
    Mit dem Bau des riesigen Tourismus-Resorts des ägyptischer Investors soll Andermatt nun wieder zu alter Blüte zurückfinden.

  • Bergkristalle auf dem Grimsel
      Bergkristalle auf dem Grimsel Natur

    Hinter der Staumauer Räterichsboden auf dem Weg über den Grimselpass liegt der Räterichsbodensee. Unterhalb dieser Staumauer befindet sich der Zugang zur unterirdischen Kraftwerkanlage der KWO, wo man die faszinierende Welt der Kristalle entdecken kann.

  • Gotthardpass
    Gotthardpass Pässe/Berge

    Der Gotthardpass, auch bekannt als «König der Pässe» mit einem Passübergang auf einer Höhe von 2106 Meter über Meer gilt als eines der Symbole der Schweizer Unabhängigkeit. Im nationalen Gotthardmuseum erhält man Informationen zur Geschichte des Passes und der Gotthardstrasse.

  • Nufenenpass
    Nufenenpass Pässe/Berge

    1969 wurde die Nufenen-Passstrasse eröffnet. Es ist der jüngste Strassenpass über die Alpen und mit seinen 2478 Metern über Meer auch der höchste ganz auf Schweizer Boden gelegene Pass.

  • Oberwald
    Oberwald Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    In Oberwald beginnt der 1982 fertig gestellte Furkatunnel. Durch diese Erschliessung wurde das ehemals total abgelegene Dorf zum Touristenort.
    Der Ort ist vor allem bei Langläufern ein beliebtes Ziel.

  • Reichenbachfälle und Sherlock Holmes
      Reichenbachfälle und Sherlock Holmes Natur

    Der Reichenbachfälle bestehen aus sieben Wasserfälle und wurde durch Sir Arthur Conan Doyles Romanfigur Sherlock Homes international bekannt. Denn Sherlock Holmes stürzte sich am 4. Mai 1891 gemeinsam mit seinem Erzfeind nach einem erbitterten Kampf den Wasserfall hinab.

  • Steingletscher
    Steingletscher Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Der Steingletscher ist ein Talgletscher südlich des Sustenpasses. Unterhalb des Steinsees, der vom Wasser aus dem Steingletscher gespiesen wird, liegt das Hotel Steingletscher, ein Ausgangspunkt für Bergtouren in dieser Gegend und ein beliebter Halt für Motorradfahrer, Fahrradfahrer und Postautos.

  • Suworow-Denkmal
    Suworow-Denkmal Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Rund um die Teufelsbrücke fand 1799 eine Schlacht zwischen Russen und Franzosen statt, die die Russen unter dem Kommando von General Suworow besiegten. Das 1899 in den Fels gemeisselte Suworow-Denkmal erinnert an die gefallenen russischen Soldaten.

  • Teufelsbrücke
    Teufelsbrücke Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Die wilde Schöllenenschlucht, durch die heute ein Tunnel führt, war schon immer eine schwer passierbare Stelle. Der bekannten Sage zufolge wurde deshalb die erste Teufelsbrücke mit Hilfe des Teufels errichtet.

  • Wassen mit seiner berühmten Kirche
    Wassen mit seiner berühmten Kirche Kultur/Sehenswürdigkeiten

    Das Dorf Wassen ist vorallem berühmt wegen einem ganz speziellen Wahrzeichen – der Kirche.
    Bekannt ist die kleine Wassen-Kirche aufgrund ihrer Lage im Bezug zur Gotthardbahn. Der Zug erklimmt die Höhe in zwei Kehrtunnels, und man sieht die Kirche dreimal aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln zuerst rechts, dann links, dann wieder rechts.

  • Gotthardbackpacker, Wassen UR
      Gotthardbackpacker, Wassen UR Hotel/Übernachten

    Swiss Hostels - egal welches Hostel Sie auswählen, Sie werden sich wohl fühlen und können jederzeit zu attraktiven Preisen eine komfortable Nacht verbringen.

  • Herberge Hospental, UR
      Herberge Hospental, UR Hotel/Übernachten

    Swiss Hostels – egal welches Hostel Sie auswählen, Sie werden sich wohl fühlen und können jederzeit zu attraktiven Preisen eine komfortable Nacht verbringen.